The Isle of Wight Society

Introduction to the Awards


These can be awarded for a restoration project, a rebuild, an extension to an existing building of architectural merit, a completely new property or development or any combination of these.

Developers/Owners are invited to submit comprehensive details of their project to be considered for an award with photographs of 'before', 'during', and 'after' the completion of the work.

All projects must have been materially and satisfactorily completed by March of the year prior of judging. They will also consider the preceding five year's work. Nominations are accepted between the beginning of January and mid February. The projects are judged in March/April. The awards are presented in May. 

Two further Awards bequested by former members of the Society are:

The Jo Mitchell Award, is awarded for landscaping, which fits in with a conservation project.

The Sybil Bodycombe Award, is for small conservation projects which do not have to be visible to the public eye, but must be in the true sense of conservation.

The judges' decision must be accepted as final and no member of the Society is empowered to enter into any comment. Any commercial use of a nomination before the judges' decision is made known may disqualify the entry.

[Go Back]

Isle of Wight Society
East Cowes Heritage Centre, 8 Clarence Road
East Cowes, PO32 6EP

Tel: +44 (0) 1983 280310

Website design by Netguides